top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureXo, Lo

Wedding Dress Shopping: When, Where and How I did it


Dress: The Lorelei by Sarah Seven ----- Photography: Tenth & Grace ----- Hair & Make-Up: Benita Bianca ----- ---Planning: Details, Darling ----- Floral: Honeycomb Affair---

For my 2nd wedding recap post (the first post was more of an intro about how I planned on sharing wedding content, find it here!) I wanted to dive into the dress shopping process. This was one of the first “big” to-do’s I crossed off my list and I’m personally so glad that I chose my dress early on in the planning process. When I purchased my dress the only other concrete details we'd locked in for the big day were our wedding planner and our venue. Our venue was sparse and very much designed for clients to personalize and decorate on their own (which we loved!) so I wanted to find my dress and use it as my style barometer from there on out. I was glad I had my dress to use as a jumping off point before getting too deep into choosing other design elements and decor.


With my Mom, Maid-of-Honor and future Mother-in-Law by my side we embarked on a dress try-on extravaganza, more than a year before the actual wedding day. The Sarah Seven LA flagship was the 2nd bridal showroom we visited and from the moment we entered the space I was hooked. The vibe, the people, the amazing customer service and the inimitable quality of the bridal gowns...it all just fit.



The Sarah Seven LA Flagship in West Hollywood, CA

My dress, The Lorelei, was the 3rd dress I tried on at Sarah Seven and before I even walked out of the dressing room I knew it was the one. It was the first wedding dress I tired on and felt comfortable in. I wasn’t playing dress up in someone else’s clothes or forcing myself into something that felt “bridal” but not “me.” It was simple and elegant with a few modern details which is exactly what I wanted... and the fact that it had a Gilmore Girls related name didn’t hurt either.



My dress, The Lorelei by Sarah Seven hanging in the LA Flagship right after I said "YES!"

My advice to any bride currently entrenched in the dress shopping process would be this:


  • Remember that this is supposed to be fun! It’s easy to feel like you're drowning in a sea of tulle, taffeta and eager sales associates who want to sell you an expensive gown. Try and keep things as stress free as possible so you actually have a good time! All of the women at Sarah Seven were honest, encouraging, helpful and not at all pushy which is a huge part of what made my wedding dress buying experience so enjoyable and positive.


  • Stay true to yourself. The best piece of advice I got before choosing a wedding dress was something along the lines of: “I loved my wedding look, I just wish I looked more like myself and less like what I thought a bride was supposed to look like.” For example, I rarely ever wear strapless dresses. I never feel 100% comfortable in them (and trust me, that shows in my face and in pictures when I do wear them...) so why would I wear something strapless on my wedding day? I know the general silhouettes and styles that I look and feel my best in so when I was dress shopping I was simply looking for elevated versions of those. I love that when I look at my wedding pictures now, I recognize myself. I look like me, on the best day of my life. Yes I'm more done up than usual, but I still look like myself.


  • No matter what, you're gonna look great. It's cliche, but so so true. After I bought my dress I had a really hard time not showing it to my (then) fiance. I would always ask him "well what do you think it looks like?" and he'd ramble off random dress details. Finally after months of my pestering (sorry about that babe) he said "you know what, I'm sure it's gonna be beautiful but you could show up in a paper bag and I'd still think you looked perfect." Your partner is going to think you look spectacular no matter what you wear. Added bonus? That whole bridal glow thing everyone talks about is VERY real so don't underestimate it's powers.


I can't recommend Sarah Seven enough. If you're a current bride-to-be or know anyone who is I really think stopping by their gorgeous LA showroom would serve you well! It is an appointment only bridal salon so be sure to check out their website and reserve a time slot before stopping by. Happy #weddingwednesday babes!

52 views0 comments
bottom of page